A New Passion -The Seriousness Of It All

Sometimes in life you have to give up something you love to make your dream a reality.

-Rohan Anderson

I recently came across this quote while reading Rohan’s book Whole Larder Love. Fantastic book by the way. Then it struck me. Just recently I was confronted with the same dilemma. The same type of crossroads. To be quite honest I am still wrestling with it. The decision has been made but the tension is still there.  To give something up that you are crazy passionate about, something that really is part of your DNA, something that for so long has been so much a part of your life that it’s like breathing. Now that’s serious. I’m not sure if Rohan was speaking to something of this magnitude, but I believe that I am.  An artist, a sculptor more specifically. That is how I would define my pursuit. To lace up my boots, throw on my work clothes and head to my studio. Ask my wife, I get lost in there. It’s as if I am in another world. Time stops for me when I do this kind of work. Actually, time really becomes a non-issue because if it were so I would have found something else long ago. As I have said before my head, hands and heart work in unison in a way I can’t fully articulate. They do their thing and I just try to keep up.

That is what I am stepping away from. Actually, for the past 8 months I have not spent any time in my studio. Is this for good? I really have no idea but it is at least for now. For those of you that know me, you already know this is…well, this is big.  For the past six plus years, I have been working and showing, working and showing, working and showing.  And earlier this year, I had my first solo exhibition.  A chance to tell the stories and struggles I long to communicate in the work I create. Something I have been working towards for some time now. So what do I do? I take a bow and tip my hat and exit the stage. Stepping away in order to step forward into something new. Something different. A dream? Maybe. More like a calling. Actually, we (my wife and I, along with our two girls) are stepping into something we were not really looking for but have come to the realization that it’s calling us. I also believe that the calling, or dream, is not always something you decide upon or come up with.  And as we have come to understand, this thing, it has a way of finding you. Farwell House is the calling. As we all know the length of a day is set and one only has so much energy. Trying to keep all the plates spinning at the same time is doable…for a while. There comes a time when we realize to truly see a calling, a dream if you will, come to fruition, we have to make difficult decisions. I am in that time right now.  Farwell House is where I am investing my time. My get lost and forget about the clock time. This is a new passion. One that grows out of a desire to fill a void that I see in our region.  And one we are serious about. What does the future hold? How will this all play out?  I’m not quite sure, but my head, hands, and heart are doing their thing. A new thing and I am just trying to keep up.

Leave a Reply

